[Skip to content]
To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web browser that supports HTML5 video

Leeds Beckett represented among Leeds Sports Awards 2017 finalists


Leeds Beckett University students, alumni and coaches are among the finalists for the 2017 Leeds Sports Awards, which were revealed on Monday.

Alistair Brownlee, Kadeena Cox and David Stone

Leading the way in the senior sportsman category is Alistair Brownlee, MSc Finance 2013, whilst Kadeena Cox, BSc (Hons) Sport & Exercise Science 2013, and David Stone, MA Sport Business 2010, are included in the sportsman and sportswoman disability categories respectively.

The trio enjoyed huge success at the 2016 Olympics and Paralympics in Rio; Alistair became the first man to retain Olympic triathlon gold, Kadeena was the first British Paralympian to win gold in more than one different sport since 1984 and David took silver and bronze to add to four previous Paralympic medals.

Elsewhere Ady Hinchliffe, BA (Hons) Human Movement Studies 1994, is nominated in the coach performance category after guiding Leeds divers Jack Laugher and Chris Mears to Team GB’s first ever Olympic diving gold medal in the Men’s three metre synchronised springboard event in Rio.

In the same category are former Director of Sport Malcolm Brown and Triathlon Head Coach Jack Maitland for their work with the Brownlee brothers, who train on the Leeds Beckett campus and unforgettably finished one-two at the 2016 games.

Leeds Beckett University’s Hockey Club are also nominated in the student sport category for their phenomenal fundraising efforts which saw them raise £13,790 for Marie Curie.

The men’s club completed five marathons in as many days whilst the women’s club did the National Three Peaks Challenge to raise a combined total far exceeding their original target of £10,000.

The Awards will be held at the first direct Arena on Tuesday 7 March. You can secure your tickets for the evening here.

Leeds Beckett finalists:




Alistair Brownlee MBE

Chris Mears MBE

Jack Laugher MBE

Jonny Bairstow

Jonny Brownlee

Nile Wilson

Paul Bennett MBE



Adam Duggleby

David Stone MBE

James Simpson



Hannah Cockroft MBE

Kadeena Cox MBE



Adrian Hinchliffe & Edwin Jongejans

Malcolm Brown MBE & Jack Maitland




Cameron Corbishley

James Nicholson

Kim Daybell

Leeds Beckett University Hockey Club

University of Leeds Women's Hockey Club

Posted in

Back to Top Button
Back to Top Button