[Skip to content]
To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web browser that supports HTML5 video

Leeds Beckett Sports Awards 2018

Leeds Beckett University hosted their annual sports awards at Elland Road, the home of Leeds United Football Club, on Saturday 5 May.

The #BeckettSportsAwards showcased the achievements of Beckett’s sports clubs over the past academic year

Dixie from local radio station Heart Yorkshire Radio was the compere for the Awards, which saw over 40 winners announced.

The awards evening also raised funds for the Athletic Union’s chosen charity State of Mind,– a charity that helps raise awareness of the issues surrounding mental health and wellbeing,– with £339.48 raised.

The evening kicked off with the Club Member of the Year Award – which saw members from every Athletic Union club selected for an award – voted for by their fellow teammates.

Beckett athlete Alex Yee claimed the Sportsman of the Year Award whilst Isle of Man Gymnast Nicole Burns won Sportswoman of the Year just a month after returning from the Commonwealth Games in Australia.

Four of Beckett’s Athletic Union clubs also received top awards including Futsal (Most Improved Club of the Year); Men’s American Football (Team of the Year); Dance (Non-BUCS Club of the Year) and Tennis (BUCS Club of the Year).

Below is the full list of winners from the 2018 Leeds Beckett Sports Awards

Club Officer of the Year - Chris Smith (Football)

Student Development - Alice Robson (Tennis)

Sportsman of the Year - Alex Yee (Athletics/Triathlon)

Sportswoman of the Year - Nicole Burns (Gymnastics)

John ‘Tats’ Harkins Unsung Hero Award - Ivan Solvas (Futsal)

Sports Personality - Izzy Shackleton (Volleyball)

Most Improved Club of the Year - Futsal

Team of the Year - Men’s American Football

Non-BUCS Club of the Year - Dance

BUCS Club of the Year - Tennis

Congratulations to all of the winners and nominees from the 2018 Beckett Sports Awards

Thanks to The Box Leeds, Charlton Morris, Matrix Fitness UK and O’Neills who all contributed and sponsored several awards on Saturday evening.



Posted in

Staff Students
Back to Top Button
Back to Top Button