[Skip to content]
To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web browser that supports HTML5 video

Centre for Dementia Research

Dementia Awareness


Dementia is a national and international health priority and the numbers of people living with dementia are set to increase as the population ages. The Leeds Beckett University Centre for Dementia Research aims to facilitate a cross-disciplinary research community to support the conduct of applied dementia research that will lead to improvements in the lives of people living with dementia and those who provide care and support to them. The centre has membership from eight schools and a growing portfolio of internationally recognised dementia research that spans three main theme areas. Click on each theme to find out more about our research activities:

We also lead on the programme of work that forms part of our Leeds Dementia Action Alliance commitment to working to become a dementia friendly organisation and our annual activities to support Dementia Awareness Week.

In addition to the applied research activities of the Centre for Dementia Research, our University dementia research portfolio also includes biomedical sciences research.

Professor Claire Surr.

The Centre for Dementia Research Members

The Centre for Dementia Research has a core team and a number of active members spanning seven Schools across the University. We continue to grow and welcome new members.

Core Team

 Professor Claire Surr  Dr Alys Griffiths Rachael Kelley 

The core team are located in the School of Health and Community Studies. They support and facilitate the day-to-day running of the Centre as well as leading programmes of applied dementia research.

Honorary and Associate Staff

Professor Geetha Upadhyaya Tony Jameson-Allen 
Natashe Lemos-Dekker 

Centre Members

Dr Victoria Archbold  Dr Laura Ashley  Dr Rob Brooks   Professor Fraser Brown
 Dr Sarah Burden  Dr Divine Charura  Dr Pamela Fisher  Dr Stuart Flint
 Dr Peter Francis  Dr Jackie Hargreaves  Dr Darren Hill  Dr Nicola Kime
 Dr Suneel Kunamaneni  Janine Lee  Professor Jonathan Long  Dr Lorena Lozano
 Professor Jim McKenna  David Mercer  Professor Dorothy Monekosso  Sarah Patrick
 Dr Andy Pringle  Professor Jayne Raisborough  Sarah Roe  Dr Zoe Rutherford
 Professor Rob Shail  Professor Andrew Sparkes  Professor Shirley Tate  Bryony Walker
 Dr Toni Williams  Dr Stephen Zwolinsky

Doctoral Students

Alison Morby Cara Gates  Emily Shoesmith 
Gill Maidens  Mollie Price   

Back to Top Button
Back to Top Button