Two students in architecture seminar

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines are an internationally recognised set of recommendations for improving web accessibility.

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines are known as WCAG 2.1. They explain how to make digital services, websites and apps accessible to everyone, including users with impairments to their:


Like severely sight impaired (blind), sight impaired (partially sighted) or colour blind people.


Like people who are deaf or hard of hearing.


Like those who find it difficult to use a mouse or keyboard.


Like people with dyslexia, autism or learning difficulties.

using THEse guidelines

By focusing on principles - not technology - we emphasise the need to think about the different ways in which our diverse audiences interact with content. So, the guidelines on this page are based on our four design principles for ultimate accessibility:

  • Perceivable
  • Operable
  • Understandable
  • Robust

 This page then, gives you a content checklist to ensure you're always creating content that is accessible to all.