Degree Apprenticeship: Architecture Degree Apprenticeships (Level 7)


Successful graduates are awarded Master of Architecture (MArch) Part 2 and PG Cert Architectural Professional Practice Part 3 architecture qualifications from Leeds Beckett University, as well as a Level 7 degree apprenticeship qualification.


Course Overview

  • Attendance

    Part Time
  • Duration

    4.5 years
  • Cost

    For levy payers costs are met by the apprenticeship levy through your digital account £21000 over two years (subject to confirmation)

The Architect Degree Apprenticeship Level 7 is an integrated apprenticeship, which incorporates on-programme academic (off-the-job) learning with workplace (on-the-job) learning, culminating in an End Point Assessment (EPA) to test the knowledge, skills and behaviours as detailed in the Architect Apprenticeship Standard. The EPA comprises of case study report based on a design challenge, a career appraisal and interview.  

The Architect Apprenticeship Standard is mapped against the current Architects Registration Board (ARB) and Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Part 2 (Master of Architecture part-time) and Part 3 (PG Cert in Architectural Professional Practice) criteria. Leeds Beckett University provides the Part 2 and Part 3 academic components whilst apprentices are in continuous full-time employment. The off-the-job learning comprises a minimum of 20% of the entire duration of the Apprenticeship with the on-the-job learning providing the remaining 80%.

Apprentices attend off-the-job learning activities alongside other students enrolled in the existing Master of Architecture (Part 2) and PG Cert Architectural Professional Practice (Part 3) courses.  

Professional Experience and maximum 80% on-the-job Learning


This apprenticeship enables apprentices to apply to become a Registered and Chartered Architect upon successful completion. Individuals need to hold ARB-prescribed awards at Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3 levels before they are eligible for registration.  Since the Architect Apprenticeship Standard is designed to align with the latter two awards, it is compulsory for the apprentice to have completed the minimum of an ARB-prescribed Part 1 qualification or Part 1 equivalent as prescribed by the ARB prior to entry onto the course. Validated by RIBA, but subject to being prescribed by ARB.