Brexit - immigration information for EU and EEA students

Leeds Beckett is a global university and we are proud that students from more than 143 countries choose to study with us.

International collaboration is essential to what we do and forms the basis of our university’s research activity and output. We welcome students from the EU and beyond, who contribute so much to our university and our community.

Brexit is the term used to describe the United Kingdom’s departure from the European Union. How Brexit impacts you will depend on when you plan to come to the UK. 


The UK left the EU on 31 January and an 11-month transition period began from this date. During the transition period - which runs until the end of 2020 - the UK will still follow all the EU's rules and regulations on trade, travel and business. The UK will remain in the single market and the free movement of people will continue. 

The UK government has reached an agreement with the EU that will protect the rights of EU citizens living in the UK. This means that most citizens from the EU, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Switzerland will need to apply to stay in the UK under the EU Settlement Scheme. The application deadline is 30 June 2021 for anyone from the EU, and the above countries, who has entered the country before 31 December 2020 and intends to stay in the UK after 31 December 2020. Information on how to apply can be found on the UK Government's website. 


There will be a new immigration system in place from 1 January 2021. The Student Route opened on 5 October 2020 for applications made outside the UK from EEA nationals coming to the UK from 1 January 2021 to study a course. Please see information from the UK Government about applying under the new Student Route.