To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web browser that supports HTML5 video

About Music and Sound

From musicians who are playing a key part in UK music to producers who have worked with some of the biggest names in the industry, our academic staff will share their experience and expertise to ensure you get the most from your time at Leeds Beckett. Whether you want to perform, produce or manage, the range of courses on offer will hone your skills and help you take your first steps into this exciting and ever-changing area.

93.8% of students from Music and Sound courses in work of further study 15 months after graduating. (Graduate Outcomes 2020)

90% of Music Performance and Production students were satisfied with their course (National Student Survey 2020).

{B706E1D3-C4A2-4D4F-BF6F-F6B8AFCA3889}
5
Abbreviation
BHEMN;BAMIM;BMUPP;BHMSP;BAUEN;MUSTE;MAMPP;MAMMI;MASOU;MSMIG
art,architecture,design

Student Work

Kingsley Ash, Senior Lecturer

Kingsley Ash is a composer and performer of electronic and computer music whose work explores technology-enabled music performance and sound installations.

Contact
0113 81 27428
K.Ash@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Will Barker, Senior Lecturer

Dr. Will Barker is a Senior Lecturer and Researcher in the fields of Remote Sensing, Audio Engineering, and Music Technology at Leeds Beckett University.

Contact
0113 81 23266
William.Barker@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Tom Bowers, Course Director

Tom Bowers is a Senior Lecturer and Course Leader for BA (Hons) Music Production in the Leeds School of Arts at Leeds Beckett University.

Contact
0113 81 27424
T.Bowers@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Carl Flattery, Principal Lecturer

Carl is a Principal Lecturer in Music specialising in Songwriting and Production. Carl is also an Associate Member of the Centre for Learning and Teaching at Leeds Beckett.

Contact
0113 81 27372
C.Flattery@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Vivienne Gaskin, Senior Lecturer

Vivienne is a curator and academic in contemporary arts practice. She have previously been Director of Live and Digital Art at the institute of Contemporary Arts in London for ten years and founded her own artist representation and consultancy business VGCM Ltd. She has been a lecturer at Birkbeck College London, University of Leeds and University of Gloucestershire.

Contact
0113 81 25747
V.Gaskin@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Matt Green, Senior Lecturer

Matt Green is a practice-based researcher. He is a producer of site-specific sound art. The vast majority of Matt’s practice concerns public urban space, and has served to frame, accent and augment the host location through soundscape composition.

Contact
0113 81 26544
Matthew.Green@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Phil Legard, Senior Lecturer

Phil Legard is a musician and producer whose work spans classical, folk, electronic, and experimental music. As an academic, Phil studies the relationship between contemporary music and esotericism.

Contact
0113 81 23645
P.P.Legard@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Sue Miller, Professor

Dr Sue Miller is a Reader in music, teaching on the undergraduate and postgraduate courses in performance and production. As an academic and practitioner she specialises in popular music analysis, improvisation, ethnomusicology and performance.

Contact
01138121840
S.M.Miller@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Justin Morey, Senior Lecturer

Justin's background is in sound engineering and music production and his research interests include sampling, copyright and creative practice in music production.

Contact
0113 81 27373
J.Morey@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Benjamin Mosley, Senior Lecturer

Ben Mosley is a Senior Lecturer in the Leeds School of Arts specialising in Audio Engineering and Acoustics. He is Lead Tutor for the BSc (Hons) Audio Engineering course and teaches across a wide range of audio and acoustics modules.

Contact
0113 81 25377
B.Mosley@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Stuart Moss, Senior Lecturer

Stuart is a Senior Lecturer in entertainment and music industry business and management subjects as well as a Global Engagement Champion for Leeds School of Arts. He has been teaching in higher education since 2001.

Contact
0113 81 25427
S.Moss@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Sam Nicholls, Senior Lecturer

Sam Nicholls is a Senior Lecturer in Music, teaching music industry and partnering with industry.

Contact
0113 81 23726
S.Nicholls@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Paul Ratcliff, Principal Lecturer

Dr Paul Ratcliff is Principal Lecturer in Music and Sound. He has worked on creative technology projects in field recording, audio editing, art installations and performances.

Contact
0113 81 27561
P.Ratcliff@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

David Raybould, Senior Lecturer

Dave Raybould is a Senior Lecturer who teaches sound synthesis, game audio, sound design and sound for film across both undergraduate and postgraduate music technology courses.

Contact
0113 81 23712
D.Raybould@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Ken Scott, Senior Lecturer

One of the preeminent recording engineers and producers of the 20th century Ken Scott has garnered Gold, Platinum, and Diamond sales awards, Grammy nominations and a Clio (for the classic Coke ad "I'd Like To Teach The World To Sing").

Contact
0113 81 24155
K.M.Scott@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Nikos Stavropoulos, Reader

Nikos’'s research interests lay in the composition of multi - channel acousmatic and mixed media works, the articulation of acoustic space and its use in musical structure, as well as the development of new interfaces for sound processing and composition.

Contact
0113 81 27333
N.Stavropoulos@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Richard Stevens, Course Director

Dr Richard Stevens is Course Director for the postgraduate programmes in music and sound at Leeds Beckett University. He has published and presented widely on the topic of Game Audio and Game Audio Education including at the Audio Engineering Society, Ludomusicology, and Game Developers conferences.

Contact
0113 81 23690
R.C.Stevens@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Alex Stevenson, Course Director

Alex is Course Director for New Courses in Music in the Leeds School of the Arts. He is a fellow of the Higher Education Authority and is member of the Association for the Study of the Art of Record Production.

Contact
0113 81 23276
A.S.Stevenson@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Paul Thompson, Reader

Paul is a professional recording engineer with over ten years of experience working in the music industry. He currently teaches music technology in the community, studio production and acoustics on the Music Technology, Audio Engineering and Music Production programmes.

Contact
0113 81 27563
P.A.Thompson@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Michael Ward, Course Director

Michael Ward is a Senior Lecturer and Course Leader for BSc (Hons) Music Technology. His specialist areas are sound reproduction, mastering and computational models for machine listening.

Contact
0113 81 23826
M.J.Ward@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Back to Top Button