Facebook pixel [Skip to content]
To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web browser that supports HTML5 video

About Music and Sound

From musicians who are playing a key part in UK music to producers who have worked with some of the biggest names in the industry, our academic staff will share their experience and expertise to ensure you get the most from your time at Leeds Beckett. Whether you want to perform, produce or manage, the range of courses on offer will hone your skills and help you take your first steps into this exciting and ever-changing area.

96.15% overall Student Satisfaction on our BA (Hons) Music Production course. (Source: NSS, 2019)

{B706E1D3-C4A2-4D4F-BF6F-F6B8AFCA3889}
5
Abbreviation
BHEMN;BAMIM;BMUPP;BHMSP;BAUEN;MUSTE;MAMPP;MAMMI;MASOU;MSMIG
art,architecture,design

Student Work

Kingsley Ash, Senior Lecturer

Kingsley Ash is a composer and performer of electronic and computer music whose work explores technology-enabled music performance and sound installations.

Contact
0113 81 27428
K.Ash@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Tom Bowers, Course Director

Tom Bowers is a Senior Lecturer and Course Leader for BA (Hons) Music Production in the Leeds School of Arts at Leeds Beckett University.

Contact
0113 81 27424
T.Bowers@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Carl Flattery, Principal Lecturer

Carl is a Principal Lecturer in Music specialising in Songwriting and Production and is Head of Student Experience and Employability for the School of Film, Music and Performing Arts.

Contact
0113 81 27372
C.Flattery@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Vivienne Gaskin, Senior Lecturer

Vivienne is a curator and academic in contemporary arts practice. She have previously been Director of Live and Digital Art at the institute of Contemporary Arts in London for ten years and founded her own artist representation and consultancy business VGCM Ltd. She has been a lecturer at Birkbeck College London, University of Leeds and University of Gloucestershire.

Contact
0113 81 25747
V.Gaskin@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Matt Green, Senior Lecturer

Matt Green is a practice-based researcher. He is a producer of site-specific sound art. The vast majority of Matt’s practice concerns public urban space, and has served to frame, accent and augment the host location through soundscape composition.

Contact
0113 81 26544
Matthew.Green@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Kenneth Jenkins, Senior Lecturer

Kenny Jenkins, is a musician and educator, whose practice is grounded in social, political, and cultural critique, but sees his principal function as encouraging students to explore and develop their own ideas.

Contact
0113 81 27375
K.W.Jenkins@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Phil Legard, Senior Lecturer

Phil Legard's background is in experimental music, particularly in the fields of generative and algorithmic composition. Additionally, he has developed a large catalogue of works that explore landscape through mixed-methodologies, including improvisation, sonic art, writing and auto-ethnographic approaches.

Contact
0113 81 23645
P.P.Legard@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Sue Miller, Reader

Dr Sue Miller is a Reader in music, teaching on the undergraduate and postgraduate courses in performance and production. As an academic and practitioner she specialises in popular music analysis, improvisation, ethnomusicology and performance.

Contact
01138121840
S.M.Miller@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Justin Morey, Senior Lecturer

Justin's background is in sound engineering and music production and his research interests include sampling, copyright and creative practice in music production.

Contact
0113 81 27373
J.Morey@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Benjamin Mosley, Senior Lecturer

Ben Mosley is a Senior Lecturer and Course Leader for BSc (Hons) Audio Engineering course in the School of Film, Music and Performing Arts. His specialist areas are acoustics, audio system design and environmental sustainability in audio.

Contact
0113 81 25377
B.Mosley@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Stuart Moss, Senior Lecturer

Stuart is a Senior Lecturer in entertainment industry management and the Course Leader for the BA (Hons) Entertainment Management at Leeds Beckett University. Stuart is also a Teacher Fellow, recognised for his excellent practice in assessment, learning and teaching.

Contact
0113 81 25427
S.Moss@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Sam Nicholls, Senior Lecturer

Before joining our University in 2012, Sam worked in the music industry for over 10 years in successful roles as a live music promoter, record label director and A&R, musician, songwriter and producer. As well as delivering a number of industry based modules and research at the University, he is involved in developing partnerships to improve access to music industry roles with local and national bodies.

Contact
0113 81 23726
S.Nicholls@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Steve Parker, Principal Lecturer

Dr Steven Parker is a Principal Lecturer in Music Technology and Production at Leeds Beckett University. He joined the University after many years working in the music industry having worked on a diverse range of projects including music production, television and games audio.

Contact
0113 81 25168
S.L.Parker@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Paul Ratcliff, Principal Lecturer

Dr Paul Ratcliff is Principal Lecturer in Music and Sound. He has worked on creative technology projects in field recording, audio editing, art installations and performances.

Contact
0113 81 27561
P.Ratcliff@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

David Raybould, Senior Lecturer

Dave Raybould is a Senior Lecturer who teaches sound synthesis, game audio, sound design and sound for film across both undergraduate and postgraduate music technology courses.

Contact
0113 81 23712
D.Raybould@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Ken Scott, Senior Lecturer

One of the preeminent recording engineers and producers of the 20th century Ken Scott has garnered Gold, Platinum, and Diamond sales awards, Grammy nominations and a Clio (for the classic Coke ad "I'd Like To Teach The World To Sing").

Contact
K.M.Scott@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Nikos Stavropoulos, Reader

Nikos’'s research interests lay in the composition of multi - channel acousmatic and mixed media works, the articulation of acoustic space and its use in musical structure, as well as the development of new interfaces for sound processing and composition.

Contact
0113 81 27333
N.Stavropoulos@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Richard Stevens, Course Director

Richard Stevens is Course Director for the postgraduate programmes in music and sound at Leeds Beckett University

Contact
0113 81 23690
R.C.Stevens@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Alex Stevenson, Course Director

Alex is Course Director for New Courses in Music in the Leeds School of the Arts. He is a fellow of the Higher Education Authority and is member of the Association for the Study of the Art of Record Production.

Contact
0113 81 23276
A.S.Stevenson@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Paul Thompson, Reader

Paul is a professional recording engineer with over ten years of experience working in the music industry. He currently teaches music technology in the community, studio production and acoustics on the Music Technology, Audio Engineering and Music Production programmes.

Contact
0113 81 27563
P.A.Thompson@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Michael Ward, Course Director

Michael Ward is a Senior Lecturer and Course Leader for BSc (Hons) Music Technology. His specialist areas are sound reproduction, mastering and computational models for machine listening.

Contact
0113 81 23826
M.J.Ward@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Back to Top Button
Back to Top Button