Delete a student's submission

Turnitin Classic Assignments
Page last updated:
12 Oct 2026

This guide contains information for staff about deleting a student's Turnitin (Classic) assignment submission. 

Deleting a student's Turnitin submission is best done before the assignment due date. This is the point at which the student's assignment will be added to the Turnitin database, and will then be matched against future submissions. You may need to delete a student's submissions, for example, if they submitted to the wrong assignment by mistake. 

a. In a module, turn Edit Mode ON and find the Turnitin assignment and click on the title.

Turnitin assignment link 

b. A list of student submissions appears, use the search box to find the student by name, this will avoid deleting another from the list view by mistake.

c. Under the options column at the end of the row select the three dots icon to the submission you wish to delete.

Delete three dot Icon

d.< You will be presented with drop down list of options to select

deletion drop downlist

Remove from Inbox refers to removing the student submission attempt from the submission inbox only. This can be done before the Due Date has passed.

Once you select Remove from Inbox you will be displayed with a confirmation prompt. If you wish to go ahead and remove the submission from the inbox only, click the Confirm button to action this and follow the prompts.

remove from inbox request

c. Once you have confirmed the page will automatically refresh itself with an up-to-date assignment inbox list reflecting the change actioned.

Please note you may have to manually delete the submission from the relevant Grade Centre column.

a. Click Grade Centre then Full Grade Centre in the Module Management menu.

b. Locate the relevant submission you have removed from the assignment inbox.

c. Click the grey action link next to the submission and click View Mark Details.

view mark details action button

d. Click Clear mark.

clear mark button

If you need further support with the above please contact the Digital Learning Service.

Important: Only request permanent deletion in exceptional circumstances, such as when a submissions has been submitted to the wrong modules and is effecting similarity scores.

Selecting Request Permanent deletion sends a request to the Digital Learning Service for approval. If approved, the submission, marks, feedback and similarity report will be permanently removed from Turnitin.

Warning: Deleted submissions cannot be recovered by either the Digital Learning Service or by Turnitin.

To submit a request in Turnitin Classic Assignment

a. Select Request permanent deletion and click Continue.

b. Choose the Reason for Deletion and click Continue.

c. Type DELETE and select Confirm.

d. A deletion icon will appear on the submission that has been nominated for permanent deletion.

Permeant deletion bin icon

login