Chat to us about Clearing
Chat to us about clearing button

Governance,  leadership and structure

Female resting her chin on her hand while working at laptop
Abstract art in front of James Graham Building on Headingley Campus

Information about the university's governing bodies and structure

Our university is a higher education corporation, established on 01 April 1989 pursuant to the Education Reform Act 1988. It was granted taught and research degree awarding powers on 4 June 1992 and university status on 26 April 1993.

The university’s constitution comprises the Instrument and Articles of Government. Changes to the Instrument and Articles can be made via resolution of the Board of Governors.

Our university is governed by the Board of Governors and the Academic Board, along with our executive groups to support the Vice Chancellor’s leadership and management of the university.

Abstract image of the outside of the Rose Bowl Building

Executive groups

The Vice Chancellor is responsible for the leadership and management of the university, supported by a number of executive groups including:

Abstract image of the outside of Broadcasting Place looking upwards

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is the university's governing body and is responsible for exercising the powers of the university as defined in the Instrument and Articles of Government, the Education Reform Act 1988, the Further and Higher Education Act 1992 and the Higher Education and Research Act 2017. The Board of Governors has a number of standing committees to oversee particular areas of business.

Flag and the top of James Graham building against a blue sky

Academic Board

The Academic Board is the university's principal academic authority. Subject to the responsibilities of the Board of Governors and the Vice Chancellor, the Academic Board has oversight of quality assurance and enhancement; learning, teaching and assessment; and research and scholarly activity. The Academic Board has a number of standing committees to oversee particular areas of business. School Academic Committees are responsible to the Academic Board for overseeing academic activities in each school.

Our university is also supported by a range of Corporate Services including Financial Services, Estates Services, Corporate Communications, Information and Technology Services, Human Resources, Libraries and Learning Innovation, International Office, Sport and Active Lifestyles, and Campus and Residential Services.

Status and transparency

The legal name of the corporation is Leeds Beckett University. Its principal place of business and address for correspondence is The Rose Bowl, City Campus, Leeds LS1 3HB.

The university is an exempt charity for the purposes of the Charities Act 2011. It is subject to charity law but is not required to register with the Charity Commission. The Office for Students (OfS) became the principle regulator of higher education providers on 1 April 2018, taking over from the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE). In addition to governors' responsibilities under the Instrument and Articles of Government and to the OfS, members of the Board are also charity trustees and must therefore have regard to the requirements of charity law. The powers of the university, as defined in the Higher Education and Research Act 2017 and the Education Reform Act 1988, are: 

  • To provide higher education
  • To provide further education
  • To provide secondary education suitable to the requirements of persons who have attained the age of 14 years
  • To provide education which is secondary education by virtue of section 2(2B) of the Education Act 1996
  • To participate in the provision of secondary education at a school
  • To carry out research and to publish the results of the research or any other material arising out of or connected with it in such manner as the corporation think fit’

These powers constitute the objects of the university. The charitable purpose of the university, as defined in the Charities Act 2011, is the advancement of education for the public benefit. The members of the Board of Governors are the charity trustees in law.

This slavery and human trafficking statement is made pursuant to section 54(1) of the Modern Slavery Act 2015 and constitutes the university’s slavery and human trafficking statement for the financial year ending 31 July 2021.

The university’s financial year runs from 01 August to 31 July. The university's group VAT registration number is GB 545 3728 31. The university is partially exempt from VAT as a supplier of education and research. By virtue of its charitable status, the university is exempt from corporation tax on its primary purpose activities. The university’s audited consolidated financial statements are published annually.

This letter from Zurich Municipal provides evidence of the liability insurance held by Leeds Beckett University and Leeds Beckett University Enterprises for the financial year ending 31 July 2023.

The university undertakes non-primary purpose trading activities through its wholly owned subsidiary company: 

  • Leeds Beckett University Enterprises Limited (registered company number 2369724

The university also has two partly owned subsidiary companies.

  • Morelife UK Limited (company number: 07107520)

The Senior Staff Remuneration Committee is responsible for determining and reviewing the salaries and terms of conditions of the Vice Chancellor, Deputy Vice Chancellors and University Secretary. 

The university publishes an annual report, approved by the Board, summarising the work and key decisions made by the Senior Staff Remuneration Committee.  Further information is also disclosed retrospectively each year in the university’s financial statements in accordance with the requirements of the Office for Students.

Useful Contacts

PA Pam McLaren

0113 81 29594

or email

PA Pam McLaren


0113 81 29594


or email

PA Pam McLaren

0113 81 29594

or email

PA Angela Schumann

0113 81 29594

or email

Service Administrator Dmitry Fedoseyev

0113 812 4073 

or email

PA Andrea Russell

0113 812 3401

or email

PA Estelle Campbell

0113 812 3662

or email

PA Nicola Beaumont

0113 812 1794

or email

PA Jackie Griffiths

0113 812 8688

or email

PA Taryn Cranswick

0113 812 6233

or email

PA Sally Banton (nee Clayton)

0113 81 29590

or email