Facebook tracking pixel [Skip to content]
To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web browser that supports HTML5 video

Leeds Sports Awards winners revealed

Leeds Beckett alumna Lois Forsell was crowned Leeds Sportswoman of the Year on a successful evening for the university at the Leeds Sports Awards.

Here are your Leeds Beckett winners:.

Sportswoman of the Year
Lois Forsell
BA (Hons) Sports Development, 2015

Alumna Lois Forsell received the award after an impressive inaugural season for the Leeds Rhinos women’s team.

The Rhinos claimed the Challenge Cup trophy and League Leader’s shield in their first ever competitive season, with club captain Lois inspiring the team to their successful debut campaign.

Fellow Leeds Beckett alumna, and Great Britain triathlete, Georgia Taylor-Brown, BSc (Hons) Sports & Exercise Science, 2015, was nominated alongside Lois for the award.

Performance Coach of the Year
Dave Murray
BA (Hons) Physical Education, 2007

Leeds Beckett alumnus Dave Murray claimed his second successive Performance Coach award, after sharing the award with former Leeds Rhinos head coach Brian McDermott last year.

The City of Leeds Gymnastics coach, who also coaches Team GB athlete Nile Wilson, fended off stiff competition for the award, including popular Leeds United Manager Marcelo Bielsa.

Coaching – Participation Award, Winners
Kris Stafford and Harrison Marshall

UK Coaching Award winners Kris Stafford and Harrison Marshall added the Leeds Coaching Participation Award to their growing trophy cabinet.

The Leeds Beckett rugby union coaches, alongside fellow coach Stephen Quinn, received the award for their success with local rugby union club Old Otliensians RUFC.

Otliensians’ RFU Junior Vase victory last summer was a landmark occasion for the club, which saw the entire community of Otley rally to support their team.

Leeds Beckett’s American Football coach Dale Bottomley was also recognised in the category, as he shared the highly commended award (second place) with Ryan Tucker from the Leeds Shotokan Karate Club.


Kris Stafford – MSc Sports Coaching
Harrison Marshall – MSc Sports Coaching

Highly commended:

Dale Bottomley – MA Sport, Law and Society, 2013

Student Sport winners

Connor Davies, Curtis Davies and Sion Jones

Leeds Beckett’s Welsh rugby league players Connor Davies, Curtis Davies and Sion Jones claimed the Student Sport award after an impressive 2018 campaign for club and country.

All three students were influential in helping Wales qualify for the 2021 Rugby League World Cup, after their success in last autumn’s European Championships.

The players also featured heavily for Betfred Championship club Halifax in their Middle Eights campaign, which saw them compete against Super League heavyweights Leeds Rhinos, Hull Kingston Rovers and Salford Red Devils.

Fellow Leeds Beckett students Alex Yee and Chloe Menear were also recognised in the category as they were named finalists, claiming third place.


Connor Davies, BA (Hons) Sports Business Management
Curtis Davies, BA (Hons) Sports Coaching
Sion Jones, BA (Hons) Sports Coaching


Alex Yee, BSc (Hons) Sports & Exercise Science
Chloe Menear, BA (Hons) Physical Education

Stephen Boothroyd, who was a student at City of Leeds & Carnegie College 1973-76 and Leeds Polytechnic 1976-1977, and has subsequently worked as a Link Tutor at our university since 2014 was Highly Commended in the Service to PE and School Sport category.

Leeds Beckett University’s Head of Sport Sally Nickson said “Congratulations to all of our winners and nominees at this year’s Leeds Sports Awards."

“We are incredibly proud of our students, alumni and coaches who have all, deservedly, been recognised for their hard work and success over the last twelve months on such a grand stage for the city.”

Posted in

Staff Students
Back to Top Button
Back to Top Button