To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web browser that supports HTML5 video

Visiting Scholar Programme

Visiting scholar scheme at the International Centre for Research in Events, Tourism and Hospitality

The International Centre for Research in Events, Tourism and Hospitality (ICRETH) at The School of Events, Tourism and Hospitality Management welcomes academic visitors from across the globe whose stay will be of mutual research benefit to the individual and ICRETH.

The Visiting Scholar Scheme is open to academic staff employed at universities other than those at Leeds Beckett University (LBU). It is not open to graduate students or recently completed PhD students at LBU.

Successful applicants will be those who can demonstrate:

  1. The support of an ICRETH member of academic staff (the 'host'). Candidates are, therefore, invited to contact our staff informally before applying;
  2. The value of their visit, both for themselves and for ICRETH.

The Visiting Scholar is expected to engage in one or more of the following activities:

  1. Collaboration on research projects with ICRETH members;
  2. Research seminars for both faculty and students;
  3. Sector networking;
  4. Partnering on grant applications;
  5. Other research/teaching activities agreed between ICRETH and the visitor.

In return, we will offer

  1. Work space during your stay;
  2. The opportunity to join a stimulating environment;
  3. Major travel costs (e.g. flights but not minor disbursements such as public transport or meals when you are here), accommodation and, depending on the level of collaboration with an ICRETH member, research expenses;

We intend to host at least one visitor each year for up to two weeks.

If you are interested in joining us as a Visiting Scholar by all means email Professor Rhodri Thomas or Professor Dorina-Maria Buda to arrange an informal discussion.  Alternatively,  you may send us the following:

  1. A current Curriculum Vitae;
  2. The period in which you would like to visit;
  3. A description of the planned activities and expected outcomes.

Once you have submitted these documents you will receive notification from our Centre within 3 - 4 business weeks. 


Professor Dorina Buda
Head of ICRETH
T: +44 (0113) 812 9662