To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web browser that supports HTML5 video

About Art and Design

The Art and Design subject area offers a unique provision of undergraduate and postgraduate opportunities that challenge the conventions of Art and Design practices and theories.

100% of Graphic Arts and Design students were satisfied with their course (National Student Survey 2020).

92% of Fashion Marketing students were satisfied with their course (National Student Survey 2020).

What's New


LBU_BA_FineArt, LBU_BA_graphics
http://www.leedsbeckett.ac.uk/school-of-art-architecture-and-design/NewsRSSArt/
http://www.leedsbeckett.ac.uk/school-of-art-architecture-and-design/EventsRSS/
2
{720284BF-5457-41AD-A078-6EEFFE7F733A}
5
Abbreviation
ARCHA;BIFAD;BAFAS;BAFAM;ARTFN;BGRAD;BILLU;INTAD;BALAD;BAHPD;MTDES;MARCH;MAARC;PROFY;MAAAD;MFASH;MGRAD;LANDB;LANDC;ADPAD;MAUDE
art,architecture,design

Student Work

Dr Kiff Bamford, Reader

Dr Kiff Bamford is Reader in Contemporary Art, with research interests in Performance art and Continental Philosophy. He has published widely on the work of French philosopher Jean-François Lyotard with a focus on the inter-relationship between Art and Philosophy.

Contact
0113 81 21873
C.A.Bamford@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

David Beckitt, Senior Lecturer

David is a senior lecturer and graphic designer with a wealth of industry experience in branding, art direction, editorial design, illustration, photography, and type design. I have been teaching graphic art and design at Leeds Beckett University since 2008.

Contact
0113 81 22971
D.Beckitt@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Jonathan Briggs, Senior Lecturer

Jonny is a Senior Lecturer at Leeds Beckett University, teaching on the Graphic Arts and Design undergraduate programme and Creative Director and Owner of Field Design.

Contact
0113 81 22429
J.Briggs@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

James Chinneck, Senior Lecturer

James Chinneck has been producing and exhibiting his artwork in various locations in the UK and abroad for the past twenty years. Solo exhibitions include: Wish You Were Here?, Leeds City Art Gallery, West Yorkshire, England (1997); Americanenglish, Joseph Gross Gallery, Tucson, Arizona USA, (1999); Rice Fall, Sculpture Space, Utica, New York (2000); Trust Me I’m An Artist, Leeds Metropolitan University Gallery, West Yorkshire (2003). His most recent work, Tueri Terram has been shown at Tate Britain, London (2014)

Contact
0113 81 23908
J.Chinneck@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Alan Dunn, Reader

Alan Dunn studied at Glasgow School of Art and School of the Art Institute of Chicago. His research explores new models for curating content for non-gallery audiences and his recent PhD considered the relationship between sound art and the everyday.

Contact
0113 81 23907
A.Dunn@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Jill Gibbon, Reader

Jill Gibbon is a politically engaged artist with research interests in war, art, and aesthetics.

Contact
0113 81 26215
J.Gibbon@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Benjamin Hall, Senior Lecturer

Ben is an animator, illustrator and interactive designer with over 15 years industry experience. He has taught undergraduate students at Leeds Beckett University since 2008.

Contact
0113 81 25943
B.D.Hall@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Marion Harrison, Senior Lecturer

Marion Harrison is a Senior Lecturer in Fine Art working on both UG and PG programmes. Marion is currently Acting Course Leader for BA(Hons) Fine Art and Course Leader for APD in Professional Practice in Art and Design.

Contact
0113 81 21866
M.H.Harrison@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Jo Hassall, Senior Lecturer

Jo Hassall is a Senior Lecturer in Graphic Arts and Design. Her practice-based research explores ways in which visual props can activate sites of learning.

Contact
0113 81 23316
J.Hassall@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Graham Hibbert, Senior Lecturer

Graham Hibbert is a photographer, filmmaker, designer and developer whose work primarily explores ideas of the abstract in relation to Digital Imaging.

Contact
0113 81 21867
G.Hibbert@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Ben Judd, Senior Lecturer

Ben Judd is an artist and a Senior Lecturer in Fine Art at Leeds Beckett University.

Contact
0113 81 23908
B.Judd@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Peter Lewis, Senior Lecturer

Peter Lewis is an artist and curator. His work has extended over two decades, holding posts as varied as the Chief Curator of Sharjah Biennale, and Independent Curator at Kunstverein, Bregenz. He has curated projects at Tramway and Tate Modern, publishing new research in his journal.

Contact
0113 81 22339
P.N.Lewis@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Mick Marston, Senior Lecturer

Illustrator, printmaker, ideas generator and lecturer.

Contact
0113 81 27291
M.Marston@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Simon Ringe, Senior Lecturer

Simon studied at the Royal College of Art and is a practising artist, currently undertaking a research-based, practice-led PhD. He recently had his work publicly screened as part of Light Night Leeds 2015.

Contact
0113 81 25740
S.Ringe@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Liz Stirling, Senior Lecturer

Dr Liz Stirling is a creative practitioner using performance, collaborative production and art activism to explore how we connect with each other. She has performed, published and run projects extensively in the UK including at Tate Britain, Tate Modern Summer School and toured with the British Art Show 8.

Contact
0113 81 23329
L.Stirling@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Ian Truelove, Principal Lecturer

Ian Truelove is the Course Director for BA (Hons) Illustration. His research, which is predominately technology-led, explores the nature of material reality through creative practice. Ian is currently investigating augmented reality technologies in a variety of creative contexts.

Contact
0113 81 21891
I.A.Truelove@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Back to Top Button